top of page

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE
 

PRESIDENT

Vanessa Sullivan

Arizona State University

vbrooks2@asu.edu

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT

Sybil Durand

The University of Arizona

sybildurand@arizona.edu

PRESIDENT-ELECT

Michelle Glerum

Arizona State University

rmspears@asu.edu

SECRETARY

Ashley Yap

Chandler High School

amyap@asu.edu 

TREASURER

Maria Zafonte

Grand Canyon University

maria.zafonte@gcu.edu

MEMBERSHIP CHAIR

OPEN

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR/

NCTE LIAISON

James Blasingame

Arizona State University

James.Blasingame@asu.edu

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

EQUITY, DIVERSITY & INCLUSION CO-DIRECTORS

Michelle Salcido

LaJoya Community High School

michelle.salcido@tuhsd.org

Bridget Recio

La Joya Community High School

bridget.recio@tuhsd.org

ELECTIONS COMMITTEE CHAIR

Sybil Durand

The University of Arizona

sybildurand@arizona.edu

ARIZONA ENGLISH JOURNAL 

EDITORS

Michelle Glerum

michelle.glerum@asu.edu

Kate Hope

kate.hope@cgcaz.edu

NEWSLETTER EDITOR

Connections Newsletter

Lauren Spenceley

lauren.spenceley@azed.gov

SOCIAL MEDIA DIRECTOR

Katie Johnson

The University of Arizona

kjohnson4@arizona.edu

MEMBERS-AT-LARGE

Kate Hope

Glendale Community College

kate.hope@cgcaz.edu

Em Bowen

The University of Arizona

Heather Brody

RJ Calloway

La Joya Community High School

Adriana Diaz

NON-VOTING BOARD MEMBERS

WEBSITE COORDINATOR

OPEN

HISTORIAN

Duane Roen

duane.roen@asu.edu

GRANT WRITER

OPEN

 


 

REGIONAL REPRESENTATIVES 

 

CENTRAL 

OPEN

NORTHWEST 

OPEN

NORTHEAST 

OPEN

SOUTHWEST

OPEN

 

SOUTHEAST

OPEN

ARIZONA DEPT OF EDUCATION

Lauren Spenceley

lauren.spenceley@azed.gov

COLLEGE LIAISONS

ARIZONA STATE UNIVERSITY

James Blasingame

UNIVERSITY OF ARIZONA

Sybil Durand

NORTHERN ARIZONA UNIVERSITY

Angie Hansen

2024 AETA Committees

CONFERENCE PLANNING COMMITTEE 

Chair: 

Vanessa Sullivan

 

 

Members:

James Blasingame

Sybil Durand

Michelle Glerum

Sandra Saco

Lauren Spenceley


EQUITY, DIVERSITY & INCLUSION COMMITTEE 

Co-Directors: 

Michelle Salcido

Bridget Recio

 

Members:

Em Bowen

RJ Callaway

Sybil Durand


AWARDS COMMITTEE 

 

Chair: 

Angie Hansen

 

 

Members:

TBD


TEACHERS AS WRITERS CONTEST

Kate Hope

Glendale Community College

kate.hope@cgcaz.edu

Teachers as Writers Contest

bottom of page